In memory of Virginia Woolf

books, craft, literature

Today is the day Virginia Woolf’s novel ‘To The Lighthouse’ was published in 1927 – a truly remarkable feat. No one has nailed the writing about the experience of being human quite as luminously as Virginia Woolf. I think about her as a person, and not simply as writer on a regular basis. She appears beside me as I fall headlong into a depression and she is there as I reappear.

To the LIghthouse is a book that helps the reader to confront the transience of life, to reflect on how impossible it is to pin down how we feel at any given moment. The complexity of being conscious in the world is a theme that Woolf plunders time and time again… with brilliance.

I chose to produce one of my tributes to her because she is simply a friend. I have searched for illumination all my life and as she explains , there is no revelation to which one could steady oneself ‘Instead there were little daily miracles, illuminations, matches struck unexpectedly in the dark; here was one’. 

https://www.etsy.com/uk/listing/449832278/virginia-woolf-handmade-book
https://www.etsy.com/uk/listing/449832278/virginia-woolf-handmade-book
https://www.etsy.com/uk/listing/449832278/virginia-woolf-handmade-book

If, like me you are a fan of the literary genius that Virginia Woolf indubitably was, you may like the handmade tribute that I make and sell in my store at Etsy. I wanted to create something to say thank you to a woman who has meant more than she could possibly have anticipated in her lifetime. An extraordinary miracle of a life.

5 thoughts on “In memory of Virginia Woolf

    1. Definitely have a go! It takes effort and I slow my reading down but she repays! Of course it is totally subjective! But I have been astonished at how much I think about her. The other writer who walks beside me is Montaigne..brought to me via Sarah Bakewell’s wonderful book How to live. Astonishing how he is still frrsh and wise and wonderful.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. wow that’s very beautiful, your handmade tributes! I love her writing too, she seems like a wonderful person:) I’ve been reading To The Lighthouse just this week! I’m only halfway through, I hope to write a review of it soon.

    Like

I like to hear from you, so tell me what you think.