“Who should it call father?”

culture, history, Life

A young widow, pregnant with their first child laid this letter on the chest of her dead husband.  We know this because in 1998 archaeologists discovered the mummified remains of a tall  thirty year old man Eung-Tae Lee in an ancient tomb in South Korea. With that letter she had left a pair of hemp sandals that had been made with her own hair.

Ted Hughes the poet wrote

 The only calibration that counts is how much heart people invest, how much they ignore their fears of being hurt or caught out or humiliated. And the only thing people regret is that they didn’t live boldly enough, that they didn’t invest enough heart, didn’t love enough. Nothing else really counts at all.

I wonder about the young mother and their unborn son.  I  hope she had the will to start to live again, to love her child.  Four hundred and more years I send my love to her.

Source http://www.archaeology.org/1003/abstracts/korea.html

I like to hear from you, so tell me what you think.