Dare. Do you dare?

Anne Corr  DareI love this image. Again it is a digital illustration of a photograph taken from the botanical papier mache specimens by Brendel in the late 19th and early 20th centuries.  Why does this image speak to me so eloquently?  It is different from what we expect from a flower, but it retains its ‘flower’ nature.  It reminds me of me, that I am of my species, yet don’t always feel I belong within the parameters of what is normally expected. ( I am of  course, completely within the norm, I have two eyes,two legs, two arms etc, I just don’t feel like it).

I have been questioning my understanding about many things lately, not least my understanding of the relationship with nature. Problematic, demanding, we seem to be users rather than givers, and still Nature keeps on giving .  I know it is not to be viewed from a human perspective, but who doesn’t have that spiritual sense of awe and delightedness on examining individual elements from Nature.  We share that in common at least, whoever we are , whatever our theories, our common humanity shares wonder. Thank goodness.

Of course , what I have illustrated here is not of nature in its immediate sense, and I like the play of that. It is in man’s nature to explore, examine , dissect, understand and this model was produced by a man in order to do just that. So I am struck by the beauty that is man’s curiosity  to first see the awesomeness in a flower, then explore that by imitating it in papier mache and wire, so it becomes a curiousity for students to explore the nature of a flower.  Excellent .

“Do I dare
Disturb the universe?
In a minute there is time
For decisions and revisions which a minute will reverse.”

T.S.Eliot

 

I like to hear from you, so tell me what you think.

