An unfathomable truth.

Illustrated Schopenhauer quotation   Anne CorrEinstein rated Schopenhauer, he quoted him,

I do not believe in freedom of will. Schopenhauer’s words, 

“Man can indeed do what he wants, but he cannot want what he wants”, accompany me in all life situations and console me in my dealings with people, even those that are really painful to me. This recognition of the unfreedom of the will protects me from taking myself and my fellow men too seriously as acting and judging individuals and losing good humour.

What’s good enough for Einstein is good enough for me.  I find myself being drawn back again and again to the thoughts that Einstein was good enough to put down for the record. Somehow his insistence on the mystery behind life sustains me. A poetic sensibility in a deep intellect, what a man.  I have drawn upon an illustration from a medieval Book of Hours and collaged it with a digital painting to form the illustration for Schopenhauers wisdom.  Might use it to form the cover of a miniature book.  I have somewhat lost my motivation to produce at the moment, must be down to the self imposed withdrawal from alcohol since the New Year.  May have to rethink that one.  Trying to get back into the groove since all festivities have been suspended. Happy Belated New Year to you all.

I like to hear from you, so tell me what you think.

