Dig deep, with Tolstoy and Tagore.

Tolstoy wrote a book called ‘ The Pathway of Life’  which is a collection of wisdom from writers that Tolstoy felt were valuable to him, with pieces from himself that made up a volume that could be read by anyone as a guide to living well.  Tolstoy was famously revered for his novels ‘Anna Karenina’ and ‘War and Peace’ , highly respected by the literary hierarchy , James Joyce expressing his esteem “He is never dull, never stupid, never tired, never pedantic, never theatrical!”.

But Tolstoy was not confined to literature, he was a social advocate, a peace advocate and a man who struggled to understand his place in a universe not so different from the one we inhabit.  Man’s impact on the world, and on itself continued to trouble him.  The writings he left as a legacy are inspirational, instructive, life-enhancing.  A man who created dreams which leaders of men caught  and ran with, making real differences to how governments have  acted. I wrote a blog here detailing some aspects of Tolstoy’s life, https://amonikabyanyuvva.wordpress.com/2012/04/07/i-woke-up-thi/

HIs output was phenomenal and many of his works are now available online through open-source projects. For me, I continue to dip and dive into the wealth of different writings he produced, a profligate man of genius who retained his humanity , his ability to reach out to his fellow-man beyond his own mortality.  Astonishing. In his own words:

There can be only one permanent revolution—a moral one: the regeneration       of the inner man.”

I thought of Tolstoy when I read this beautiful piece from Tagore. I am beginning to believe in a force of ultimate truth, I know not what, that holds all life unified. I don’t mean a religious god, but an unchanging glorious adventurous mystery that has unity in all things.

“When I asked you to mould with my life an image from your heart for you to love, you brought your fire and force, and truth, loveliness and peace. “

4 thoughts on “Dig deep, with Tolstoy and Tagore.

  1. test

    I noticed something too about this topic on another blog.Amazingly, your linear perspective onto it is diametrically opposite about the Someone said before. May I post point about this in my page if I post a reference to the this site?

    Like

    Reply
    1. amonikabyanyuvva Post author

      As long as you don”t quote me out of context, and retain the meaning of my point, I don’t mind one bit. I’ll be interested in reading what the diametrically oppsosed view is!

      Like

      Reply
  2. Abhi

    I too found a lot of similarities between Tolstoy and Tagore from reading their works – both evoke an image of a wise old man with a long beard, both spent their lives seeking and being in touch with that which is deep and true, and both wrote with such integrity and beauty.

    Like

    Reply
  3. Abhi

    I too found a lot of similarities between Tolstoy and Tagore from reading their works – both evoke an image of a wise old man with a long beard, both spent their lives seeking and being in touch with that which is deep and true, and both wrote with such integrity and beauty.

    PS: Please delete the previous comment – I accidentally added the wrong link.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

I like to hear from you, so tell me what you think.

